Close Navigation ×
Perch Base Event Photos

Upcoming Events

Eternal Patrol

The "MidWatch"
Arizona's Silent Service Memorial

Arizona's Silent Service Memorial.

Meeting Minutes


Perch Base Officers

Base Awards


About Perch Base

USS Perch War Patrols

Flash Traffic

SubVet Application

Eagle Scout Program

Base Newsletters


Useful Base
Documents and Forms.

Docs & Forms
Board of Dir. Login
☰ Nav Menu
Click on our Perch Base logo to return to the home page

Perch Base
Annual Awards Banquet

USSVI logo

Click on the logo or these words to go to the United States Submariners home page.

Perch Base held its Annual Awards Banquet on January 21, 2017 at the Pebble Creek Clubhouse. Our guest speaker was Captain Kevin Peppe, USN Retired.

The meeting was opened by Base Commander Chuck Emmett and an invocation by Base Chaplain Mike Olsen.

Our Base Membership Chairman, Jim Andrews, conducted the drawing for the Early Bird membership contest. The winning member's name was drawn by Captain Peppe's wife, Lori. The winner was Gary Waterbury.
Jim also awarded longevity pins to members that were present.

Click on any thumbnail for a larger picture.

Our Chaplain, Mike Olsen, was given an award provided by the USSVI National Chaplain, for recognition of his extensive efforts to establish a "one-stop" collection of what to do in the event of a submariner's death, VA burial benefits and hospice care.

Click on the thumbnail for a larger picture.

Davy Jones was selected "Sailor of the Year."

Click on any thumbnail for a larger picture.

Captain Kevin Peppe, USN (retired,) gave the keynote presentation about the future of the Submarine Service. He also told an entertaining sea story about a time he launched a TLAM cruise missile while his brother, a "jet jockey" flew a chase plane following the same missile.
Following the speech, Perch Base Commander Chuck Emmett gave Captain Peppe a plaque of appreciation for the presentation.

Click on any thumbnail for a larger picture.

The current Holland Club members (qualified submarines for 50+ years) stood for the induction of our member, Steve Stanger, into the Holland Club.

Click on any thumbnail for a larger picture.

Arizona Silent Service Memorial (ASSM) Chairman, Dan Moss, and Co-Chairman, Tim Moore, gave awards to Davy Jones and Doug LaRock for their contributions to the ASSM. Each received a hand made wood model of their qual boats.
Dan and Tim also conducted drawings for several ASSM prizes.

Click on any thumbnail for a larger picture.

Members, families and friends attending the banquet. Apologies to any that were up from their tables as pictures were taken.

Click on any thumbnail for a larger picture.

In closing, the bell was tolled for our Perch Base Members who passed on Eternal Patrol since last year's banquet:
Billy Grieves
Walt Blomgren
David Fledderjohn

A fine array of items were up for bid in the Arizona Silent Service Memorial (ASSM) silent auction.

Click on any thumbnail for a larger picture.

And, if you like to plan ahead, we already have scheduled the next Annual Awards Banquet for the 3rd Saturday in January in 2018! Save the date, January 20, 2018.

View the Event Program

View the Event Program

View the Sailing List
Return Home